“Death is just a change of address.”  Christine Laria

If you haven’t seen it, It’s a Wonderful Life is a 1946 American Holiday fantasy comedy-drama film produced and directed by Frank Capra, based on the short story and booklet, which was written in 1939 by Philip Van Doren Stern and published privately in 1945.  The film stars James Stewart as George Bailey, a man who has given up his dreams in order to help others, and whose imminent death on Christmas Eve brings about the intervention of his guardian angelClarence Odbody  (Henry Travers). Clarence shows George all the lives he has touched and how different life in his community of Bedford Falls would be like if he had never been born.  Two of my favorite lines from the movie is when the teacher says, ‘Every time a bell rings an angel gets his wings.’  and ‘Laughter just might be the best medicine

I know most people would describe Matt (and all other caregivers) as phenomenal!  Whenever I’m done at the dentist or hairdresser, they say if Matt had a bell, we could ring it now instead of calling for him.  Whenever he hears that he just says no way, that I would be ringing it all the time and that would be true.

I love these following stories/jokes!  I’m not sure I can show the link between bells and these jokes but like in life, maybe we can’t always demonstrate the link and we just have to laugh.

Here’s the first story.  A woman who usually accompanies her husband to the doctor’s office for his annual checkup was asked by the Dr. for to her to stay and talk to him after the exam.  After his checkup, the doctor called the wife into his office alone.  “Your husband is suffering from very severe disease, combined  with  horrible stress.

If you don’t do the following, your husband will surely die.  “Each morning, fix him a healthy breakfast, be pleasant, and make sure he is in a good mood.  For lunch make him a nutritious meal. For dinner prepare an especially nice meal for him. Don’t burden him with chores, as he probably had a hard day. Don’t discuss your problems with him, it will only make his stress worse. And most importantly, make love with your husband several times a week and satisfy his every whim. If you can do this for the next 10 months to a year, I think your husband will regain his health completely.”

On the way home, the husband asked his wife. “What did the doctor say?”  She replied, “You’re going to die.”

A bell would not have helped.  We are all going to die.  (By now you are rolling in the floor laughing!)

Here’s another one to make you chuckle and honor our differences.  This one is called:  Would You Remarry?

“Dear,” asked a wife. “What would you do if I died?”   “Why dear, I would be extremely upset,” said the husband. “Why do you ask such a question?”  “Would you remarry?” persevered the wife.  “No, of course not, dear” said the husband.

“Don’t you like being married?” asked the wife”  “Of course I do, dear” he said.  “Then why wouldn’t you remarry?”  “All right,” said the husband, “I’d remarry.”  “You would?” said the wife, looking vaguely hurt.  “Yes,” said the husband.

“Would you sleep with her in our bed?” asked the wife.  After a long pause. “Well, yes, I suppose I would,” replied the husband.  “I see,” said the wife indignantly. “And would you let her wear my old clothes?”  “I suppose, if she wanted to,” said the husband.

“Really,” said the wife icily. “And would you take down the pictures of me and replace them with pictures of her?  “”Yes. I think that would be the correct thing to do.”

“Is that so?” said the wife, leaping to her feet. “And I suppose you’d let her play with my golf clubs, too!   “Of course not, dear,” said the husband. “She’s left-handed.”

I got my clubs before the stroke when I was predominately right-handed.  A bell definitely would not have helped me.

The third story is probably my favorite!   A woman is accused of attacking her husband with several of his guitars.  (He had an extensive guitar collection.)  The Judge asked “First Offender?”  She replied, “No first a Gibson; second a Fender!”

There is a show on the Hallmark Network called The Good Witch.  Recently the mayor of the town had to give a speech about a bridge in town.  The mayor was a woman and her husband had been the mayor ten years ago and he had given a very memorable speech dedicating the bridge.  She was trying to outdo him!  He told her his inspiration, he always thought that that bridges were a good way to get away from something, but now he realized that bridges were a good way to come home to something!

Bottom line:  We all need love, friends, family, community and hobbies (having a bell helps when we have a new address)!  I love you!